Driving without your valid driver’s license is illegal in Illinois and can result in criminal charges against you. This can refer to the following scenarios when you’re pulled over:
- You have a valid license but it’s currently not with you
- You have an expired license or you’ve never applied for one
- Your driver’s license was suspended, revoked, or cancelled by the authorities
What Happens If I’m Caught Driving Without a License in Illinois?
In Illinois, driving without a valid license is classified as a Class B Misdemeanor, explains Noll Law Office. You may be fined as much as $1,500 and spend up to six months of jail time, while driving with a revoked or suspended license is classified as a Class A Misdemeanor and can result in a fine of as much $2,500 and a year in jail.
Your vehicle may likewise be towed at your own expense, especially if you fail to provide proof of insurance. In addition, your vehicle may be impounded and then auctioned off in the event that your violation also caused an accident wherein another individual was injured, or worse, died.
Will My Driving Privileges Be Affected with a Conviction?
Know that the Secretary of State in Illinois can suspend your driving privileges if you’re convicted. If you didn’t have a valid driver’s license in the first place, you must first go through the suspension period and then apply for a valid driver’s license. However, if you’ve been convicted a third time for driving without a valid license, your driving privileges can be revoked completely and may only be reinstated following a formal court hearing.
It is often difficult to fight a traffic offense like driving without a valid license and if you choose to do so but cant provide necessary proof, you automatically lose your case. You can consider getting help from traffic lawyers in Springfield IL to see if your punishment may be reduced. You lawyer will likewise help you prepare all required documentation and build the most suitable defense for your case.